Audrey Lincourt Schiebler, R.N. F.A.A.P., & Gerold Schiebler, M.D. F.A.A.P. Advocacy Award

Dr. Gerold Schiebler and his wife Audrey Lincourt Schiebler are an admirable and exemplary team, working together on behalf of Florida’s children. Their advocacy efforts, spanning over 50 years, can be seen through the establishment of many invaluable Florida programs including Guardian Ad Litem, Children’s Medical Services, Poison Control Centers, Child Protection Teams, and the Boggy Creek Camp for Children with special health care needs.

The Florida Pediatric Foundation established this award in 2013 to honor the lifetime achievements of Dr. and Mrs. Schiebler.

This commendable award is given annually to a physician who has worked beyond the profession, educated local and state legislators, and diligently advocated to improve the health and welfare of Florida’s children.

Selection and Presentation:

The FCAAP Executive Committee serve as the selection committee. Nominations for this award are accepted in the Spring. A call for nominations will be posted on the FCAAP website and sent to all members via email. Recipients are presented this award during the FCAAP Annual Meeting.

Recent Past Recipients

2021 – Judith Schaechter, MD, MBA, FAAP
2020 – Tommy Schechtman, MD, MPH, FAAP
2019 – Thomas T. Chiu, MD, MBA
2018 – Jeffrey P. Brosco, MD, PhD, FAAP
2017 – Lisa Cosgrove, MD, FAAP
2016 – John Curran, MD, FAAP
2015 – Louis St. Petery, Jr., MD, FAAP


Philip O. Lichtblau Award

This award is given annually to a children’s surgeon who has contributed significantly either regionally or statewide to the Children’s Medical Services Program. Click here to read about the history of Dr. Philip O. Lichtblau.

Selection and Presentation:

The Children’s Medical Services medical directors, assistant medical directors, or any individual within the CMS organization submit nominations each Spring that are forwarded to CMS in Tallahassee. Two nominations are then submitted to Dr. Craig Lichtblau for determination of the winner.

Recipients are presented this award during the FCAAP Annual Meeting.

Past Recipients

2021 – Mark Steven Bleiweis, MD
2020 – Cathy Burnweit, MD, FACS, FAAP
2019 – Ernesto Ruas, MD, FACS
2018 – David W. Kays, MD
2013 – Michael Gallant, MD
2011 – Jimmy Jones, MD
2010 – Kurt Hasenhuttl, MD
2009 – Joseph J. Tepas, III, MD
2008 – Mark Bleiweis, MD
2007 – Arturo Guiloff, MD
2005 – R. Dixon Walker, III, MD
2004 – James L. Talbert, MD


Outstanding Medical Student Award: Luther W. Holloway Award

Recognizes medical students from the State’s medical schools who have shown outstanding ability and exemplary service within a Florida medical school’s pediatric department. Named in honor of the Chapter’s first president, the Luther W. Holloway Award is given annually.

Selection and Presentation:

Recipients are chosen by the Chair of the Department of Pediatrics at each medical school each Spring. Presentation is made by the Department Chairs at each school’s graduation ceremony.

2021 Recipients

Caroline Knoop – Florida Atlantic University Charles E Schmidt College of Medicine
Edward Corty – Florida State University College of Medicine
Emilie Flament – Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
Heather Ann Kraft – University of Central Florida College of Medicine
Joseph Thomas Whelihan, Jr. – University of Florida, College of Medicine
Maria Elena Arrate – Nova Southeastern University Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine
Sophia Isabelle Pines – University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine
Taylor Jarvill – University of South Florida Health Morsani College of Medicine

Past Recipient Archive